Central Asia

Central Asia extends from the Caspian Sea in the west to the border of western China in the East. It is colloquially referred to as “the-stans” as the countries generally considered to be within the region all have names ending with the Persian suffix “-stan”, meaning “land of”.  The region consists of the five former Soviet republics of Kazakhstan in the north, Kyrgyzstan in the northeast, Tajikistan in the southeast, Turkmenistan in the southwest,   Uzbekistan located in the lower region of the Amu-Darya River (Oxus in Greek). Uzbekistan covers the central area between the two biggest central Asian rivers the Sir-Darya and Amu-Darya.



Name of country: O’zbekiston Respublikasi
Area: 448 900 km2
Capital: Tashkent
Language: Usbekisch
Population: ca 31 Mio.
Currency: Usbek Som(UZS)
Time zone: MEZ +4 Std.; in Summer +3 Std.
Country code: +998
Internet Credentials: uz


Name of country: Qozoqiston Respublikasi
Area: 2 724 900 km2
Capital:  Astana
Population: ca 18 Mio.
Currency:Tenge (KZT)
Time zone: MEZ +4 Std.; in Summer +3 Std.
Country code: +7
Internet Credentials: kz
More read


Name of country: Qirg’iziston Respublikasi
Area: 199 951 km2
Capital: Bishkek
Language:Kirgizisch, Russisch
Population: ca 6 Mio.
Currency: Som (KGS))
Time zone:KGT (UTC+5 to +6)
Country code: +996
Internet Credentials: kg
More read


Name of country: Turkmeniston Respublikasi
Area: 489 000 km2
Capital: Ashgabat
Language: Turkmeisch
Population: ca 5 Mio.
Currency:Manat (TMT)
Time zone:TMT (UTC+5)
Country code: +993
Internet Credentials: tm
More read


Name of country: Tojikiston Respublikasi
Area: 143 100 km2
Language: Tajik
Population: ca 9 Mio.
Currency:Somoni (TJS)
Time zone:TMT (UTC+5)
Country code: +992
Internet Credentials: tj
More read